top of page



Founded in 1954 “to encourage and to aid in the development of local historical

societies and to discover, collect, preserve, and publish historical

records and data relating to South Texas, and with special emphasis on the

Tamaulipan background and the colony of Nuevo Santander.”

South Texas Historical Association


 Carrol Scogin-Brincefield         President   Lynn Burlaw                       Vice President  Mike Carlisle                              Treasurer   George Gellett                             Secretary

 Laurie Jasinski              Parliamentarian 


Gary Hickinbothem

Arnulfo Mar

Lisa Neely

Carroll Scogin

Manuel Flores

The Journal of South Texas (ISSN: 1099-9310) is a biannual publication and is sent to all members of the South Texas Historical Association. Individual STHA membership is $25 annually. Joint membership per couple is $30 annually.




Membership dues should be sent to:



Responsibility for statements of fact or opinion appearing in the Journal belongs to the individual authors and not to the South Texas Historical Association or Texas A&M University-Kingsville.

bottom of page